managemer photo
message icon
Message in 2023
Top Message

DEAR SHAREHOLDERS

On behalf of the board of directors (the “Board”) of Nissin Foods Company Limited (the “Company”), I am delighted to present the Annual Report of the Company and its subsidiaries (the “Group”) for the year ended 31 December 2022.

OUTPERFORMED THE RESULTS OF YEAR 2021

2022 was the final year of COVID-19 and in the first half of theyear we focused on responding to the pandemic. In addition, we experienced rising raw material prices and a sharp increase in logistics and warehousing costs in Hong Kong due to supply chain disruptions. In line with our founder Momofuku Ando's corporate philosophy that “food-related job is a sacred profession (食為聖職)”, the Group was able to supply products throughout the year without production interruption, contributing to consumers' enjoyment of foods.

 

The Group achieved positive results, exceeding last year's results. The profit attributable to the owners of the Company increased by approximately 4.2% year-on-year to HK$316.5 million. The robust demand for instant noodles for domestic and overseas markets in Hong Kong’s operations and price adjustments in both Hong Kong and Mainland China resulted in an increase in the net profit, offsetting the spike in raw materials and logistic and storage costs. The Group’s revenue increased by approximately 4.1% year-on-year to HK$4,025.0 million. The operations in Mainland China managed to maintain a positive growth trend in annual sales volume despite a weaker consumption sentiment in the second half of 2022. On the other hand, we saw an increase in the sales volume of instant noodles in our Hong Kong operations due to vigorous demand from local and overseas markets throughout the year. Furthermore, due to the resilient demand of frozen food in Hong Kong, currently ranking first in terms of market share of the frozen dim sum category, our Hong Kong operations increased its annual revenue.

PREMIUMISATION

Over the past decades, there has been continuous consumption upgrade among the Chinese population, with increasing per capita income in Mainland China. In 2021, the Company upgraded Cup Noodles, bringing smoother noodles and improved soup quality in newly updated containers.

 

Also, Hong Kong operations launched 100% Hokkaido made wheat flour Demae Iccho in Hong Kong in 2020. The Group has rolled out four flavours under the newly upgraded Demae Iccho, bringing a variety of tastes to an even wider audience of its consumers. In Mainland China, we also stepped up our efforts launching 100% Hokkaido made wheat flour Demae Iccho in 2022. The Company expects to launch more premium products in the future.

INVESTMENT IN BUSINESS

In order to enhance Nissin Food’s brand loyalty amongst consumers, the Company launched a membership programme named “Nissin Foodium” in Hong Kong in July 2022 and in Mainland China in August 2022, respectively. Consumers can scan the QR code on the back of the Cup Noodles’ W-tab design lid with a double flap by smartphone to get points in the WeChat mini program, which can be used to redeem various items and novelties. This digital marketing can reinforce brand loyalty because the program is used to understand the preferences of individual consumers and, to obtain their feedback in developing new products. This W-tab design lid with a double flap on which the QR code was printed can adhere to the container more easily and securely than the previous lid with a closing sticker after pouring hot water and thus it can improve consumer‘s convenience.

 

On corporate development front, year 2022 was pivotal for the Group. In November 2022, the Group acquired the remaining equity interest in Zhuhai Golden Coast Winner Food Products Limited ( 珠 海市金海岸永南食品有限公司) (“Zhuhai Winner”), the former joint venture with the Chinese regional government since its establishment in 1993. Upon completion, Zhuhai Winner became an indirect wholly owned subsidiary of the Company and allowed the Group to further expand the instant noodle business and capitalise on the long term growth trends in Mainland China.

SUSTAINABILITY

In line with our founder Mr Momofuku Ando’s corporate philosophy that “Create food to serve society (食創為世 )”, the Group is committed to sustainability management as a responsible company and citizen and contributing to the sustainable development of the community in the long term while the Group grows steadily.

ENVIRONMENTAL MANAGEMENT

The Group expanded the power generation capacity at the Zhejiang plant by installing additional solar panels. Furthermore, a new solar power generation system was installed at the Zhuhai Nissin Packaging plant which commenced operation in December 2021. In 2023, Zhuhai Winner plant will install a new solar power generation system. We will continue to utilise renewable energy in our business.

 

From an environment management perspective, the production of Cup Noodles’ new W-tab design lid on the back of which QR code is printed successfully uses less PET (polyethene terephthalate) than the previous lid with a closing sticker.

HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT

The Group has continued to invest in human resources for future sustainable growth via different stages of recruitment, induction and on-going trainings. A total of ten training sessions in the form of lectures are held annually for newly recruited employees to cover our vision, culture, knowledge on instant noodles and its development, marketing and sales, and other aspects to raise employees’ awareness and allow employees to acquire operational expertise in our industry in both Hong Kong and Mainland China. In addition, the Group provided fringe benefit system for employees, including medical insurance and offering health checks and flu vaccines to employees every year.

COMMUNITY INVESTMENT

The Nissin Foods (Hong Kong) Charity Fund was established in 2020 to contribute to the well-being of the community. Nissin Foods Scholarship for supporting future Hong Kong food scientists was launched in The Chinese University of Hong Kong, and five BSc and two Ph.D students studying Food and Nutritional and Sciences were awarded the scholarships in 2022. Moreover, Nissin Foods Scholarship for supporting the future Hong Kong Physical Education teachers for food education was established in The Education University of Hong Kong and four students studying Health Education were granted the scholarships in 2022.The Group will continue the scholarship programmes to encourage outstanding students.

OUTLOOK FOR 2023

With the most recent easing of COVID-19 in Hong Kong and Mainland China, the spike in prices of raw materials, particularly palm oil, have stabilised, and logistic costs, particularly sea freight, are returning to a more normal level. We expect to benefit from the current situation. The government of Mainland China is expected to boost consumption so as to stimulate the economy, while the Hong Kong SAR government has already introduced stimulus measures to bolster economy and launched “Hello Hong Kong” campaign to attract tourists coming to the city. The Group is optimistic that the number of tourists to Hong Kong from Mainland China and the overseas is expected to increase significantly.

 

In Mainland China, its operations will mainly focus on the expansion of the sales volume of Cup Noodles and other instant noodles products substantially, particularly by expanding distribution networks to key accounts and local stores in Western and Northern regions. During the pandemic, the influx of people slowed down in Mainland China. In due course, the Company plans to increase contacts with consumers in places with high public flows, such as in retail outlets and transport hubs from the promotion and advertisement perspectives. On the non-noodle category business, the distribution business in Mainland China will strive to expand the trading of the “Made-in-Japan” confectionary.

 

Hong Kong’s operations will mainly focus on expanding the sales of 100% Hokkaido made wheat flour Demae Iccho. The distribution business aims to capture the demand for mineral water and other products from the tourism and catering industry where their sales substantially dropped during the pandemic. In terms of frozen food business, the Group will focus on the sale of premium frozen foods and strive to capture the demand from the overseas market.

CHAIRMAN’S MISSION AND DETERMINATION

Year 2023 marks the start of post pandemic where the Group’s true value and performance will be evaluated. We stay committed to further penetrating Cup Noodles, Demae Iccho, and other premium products into Mainland China and Hong Kong, to returning to a high growth trajectory in terms of sales volume and to deriving higher profits from the non-noodles business.

 

I am determined to maximise business outcomes while efficiently developing the Group’s business operation and organisation, and aiming to create long-term value for all stakeholders, including shareholders and investors of the Company. The Group is also committed to contributing to local communities for bringing sustainable growth to the community.

 

With such goals in mind, again, I believe in enriching lives of people through the production and distribution of tasty, secure, and affordable food, and I share with you the corporate philosophy of our founder, Mr Momofuku Ando, that “Create food to serve society (食創為世)”.

Kiyotaka Ando

Chairman

managemer photo
message icon
2023年訊息
主席的話

各位股東 :

本人謹此代表日清食品有限公司(「本公司」)董事會(「董事會」)欣然呈報本公司連同其附屬公司(「本集團」)截至2022年12月31日止年度之年報。

表現超越2021年業績

2022年是新冠疫情的最後一年,上半年,我們專注於應對疫情。此外,我們亦經歷了原材料價格上漲,以及供應鏈中斷導致的香港物流及倉儲成本急劇上升。本著我們的創始人安藤百福先生所提倡的「食為聖職」企業理念,本集團全年供應產品,並無中斷生產,為消費者享受食物做出了貢獻。

 

本集團取得了正面業績,超越了去年的業績。本公司擁有人應佔溢利同比增加約4.2%至316.5百萬港元。香港業務的國內外市場即食麵的需求旺盛和香港及中國內地的價格調整令淨利潤增加,抵銷了原材料及物流和儲存成本的劇增。本集團的收入同比增加約4.1%至4,025.0百萬港元。儘管2022年下半年消費情緒減弱,但中國內地的業務年銷量仍保持增長趨勢。另一方面,由於當地及海外市場全年的需求旺盛,香港業務的即食麵銷量上升。另外,由於香港冷凍食品的需求有韌性,目前在冷凍點心類別的市場份額排名第一,故香港業務的年收入增加。

高端化

過往數十年中,中國內地人均收入不斷增加,中國人群消費持續升級。2021年,本公司升級了合味道,新升級的容器中麵條更掛湯、更入味。

 

此 外, 在 香 港 業 務 中, 我 們 於2020年推出了100%北海道小麥粉的出前一丁。本集團為新升級的出前一丁推出四種口味,為更多消費者帶來多種口味。2022年,我們在中國內地加大力度推出了100%北海道小麥粉的出前一丁。本公司預計未來將推出更多高端產品。

業務投資

為提高消費者對日清食品品牌的忠誠度,本公司於2022年7月及2022年8月分別在香港及中國內地於微信小程序中的「日清食品體驗館」推出了一項會員計劃。消費者可通過智能手機掃描合味道的W形設計雙耳杯蓋拉環背面的二維碼獲得積分,積分可用於兌換各種商品和紀念品。該數字營銷活動可增強品牌忠誠度,原因為該活動可以瞭解每個消費者的偏好並於開發新產品時獲得消費者的反饋。倒入熱水後,印有二維碼的W形設計雙耳杯蓋拉環可較之前附有封口貼紙的拉環更容易且更牢固地黏附於容器上,因此可以提高消費者的便利性。

 

企業發展方面,2022年對於本集團而言至關重要。2022年11月,本集團收購了珠海市金海岸永南食品有限公司(「珠海永南」,自1993年成立起為與中國地方政府的合資公司)之餘下股權權益。交易完成後,珠海永南成為本公司之間接全資附屬公司,並使得本集團可進一步擴大即食麵業務及把握中國內地的長期增長趨勢。

可持續性

秉承創始人安藤百福先生所提倡的「食創為世」企業理念,本集團穩定增長的同時,本集團致力於作為負責任的企業和公民的可持續管理,並長期為社區可持續發展作出貢獻。

環境管理

本集團通過增加安裝太陽能電池板,擴大了浙江工廠的發電能力。此外,珠海日清包裝工廠在2021年12月開始運營,安裝了新的太陽能發電系統。2023年,珠海永南工廠將安裝新的太陽能發電系統。我們將繼續於業務中使用可再生能源。

 

環境管理方面,生產合味道 背面印有二維碼的W形設計杯蓋拉環比之前附有封口貼紙的拉環成功減少使用PET(聚乙烯對苯二甲酸酯)。

人力資源管理

就未來可持續增長而言,本集團在招聘、入職及持續培訓等各階段繼續投入人力資源。本公司每年以講座形式為新入職的員工舉行合共十次培訓課程,涵蓋我們的願景、文化、即食麵及其發展的知識、市場推廣及銷售等其他方面,以提升員工的意識,並讓在香港及中國內地的員工獲得我們的行業運營專業知識。此外,本集團為員工提供醫療保險等附加福利制度,並每年為員工提供健康檢查和流感疫苗接種。

社區投資

本公司於2020年成立日清食品(香港)慈善基金,旨在為社區福利作出貢獻。就支持未來香港食品科學家的日清食品獎學金已在香港中文大學啟動,2022年,研究食品及營養科學的5名理學學士和2名博士生獲授獎學金。此外,就支持未來香港體育教育教師有關食品教育的日清食品獎學金於香港教育大學成立,研究健康教育的4名學生於2022年獲授獎學金。本集團將繼續推行獎學金計劃,以鼓勵優秀學生。。

展望2023年

隨著近期香港及中國內地的Covid-19有所緩解,原材料(尤其是棕櫚油)的價格飛漲已趨於穩定及物流成本(尤其是海運)回歸常態。我們預計從當前形勢中獲益。預計中國政府將推動消費以刺激經濟,而香港特別行政區政府已採取刺激措施提振經濟並推出「你好,香港!」活動吸引遊客訪港。本集團樂觀地認為,來自中國內地及海外的香港遊客數量預計將大幅增加。

 

在中國內地,業務營運主要側重於擴大合味道及其他即食麵產品的銷量,尤其是擴大西部和北部地區的主要賬戶及地方商鋪的分銷網絡。疫情期間,中國內地的人員流動放緩。從促銷和廣告的角度,本公司計劃適時於零售店及運輸中心等高公眾流通的地方增加與消費者的聯繫。非麵條類別業務方面,中國內地的分銷業務將致力於擴展「日本製造」的糖果貿易。

 

香港業務將主要側重於擴大銷售100%北海道小麥粉的出前一丁。分銷業務旨在把握疫情期間銷售額大幅下滑的旅遊餐飲業對礦泉水及其他產品的需求。冷凍食品業務方面,本集團將專注銷售優質冷凍食品並竭力抓住海外市場的需求。

董事長的使命與決心

2023年是後疫情時代的開始,將考驗本集團真實價值及表現。我們致力於將合味道、出前一丁及其他高端產品進一步滲透到中國內地及香港,恢復銷量的高增長軌跡,同時提高非麵條業務的利潤。

 

本人決心在高效發展本集團的業務營運及組織的同時,將業務成果最大化,旨在為所有持份者(包括本公司股東及投資者)創造長期價值。本集團亦致力於為當地社區做出貢獻,為社區帶來可持續發展。

 

本人相信,朝著上述目標,透過生產及分銷美味、安全且實惠的食品,並抱持創始人安藤百福先生所提倡的「食創為世」企業理念,能使人們的生活變得更加豐富、充實。

安藤清隆

董事長